Where’s My Red Carpet?

21 Nov

Me and my friend Brittney at my undergrad Graduation

 After my recent move to Atlanta, I rummaged through some boxes attempting to organize the tornado, that is my new apartment. I came across a dusty cylinder, which holds my College diploma.  That B.A in Communication, and all I could think of is three years and what has it got me? Years of stress, tears, and more stress, and I think all of the time, what was it for? Where is my red carpet?

I moved for the chance of better opportunities, higher pay, and plus, I’ve always wanted to be here. However, we are sending our kids out there with the idea that they will be able to get their dream job upon walking across a stage.

With unemployment  and low pay wages remaining big concerns these days, it makes me wonder WHY I worked so hard for that degree! I have brilliant friends and family who all graduated around 2007-2009, and have jobs that couldn’t be further from what they intended to do! Most jobs look at a bachelors as if it is only high school diploma!  A bachelor’s degree is an esteemed accomplishment, and for the job market to look down on it is insane! I have no plans of getting a Masters, mainly because I plan to take my career into my own hands with God leading the way. I can’t be boxed into a specific category or job title. I hope to be a mentor to young girls from my background. I hope to be a published author, I hope to share opportunities with others that I didn’t have or have access to. I don’t need a Master’s degree to do these things!

Three years, and I have officially been out there living life after the degree, and it is not what I expected at all! I mean no, I didn’t know exactly what I wanted to do with my degree, or in life in general, but the struggle that my peers and I have been dealt sucks. Life after the educational journey has been hard, overwhelming and made me bitter at times. If you don’t know someone or have connections, then it will be harder for you. That’s not me being negative, its reality! I don’t come from a prominent family with connections, so it was not easy!

As a black woman, I know that education, especially a college education is an accomplishment itself, because of the fact that blacks at one time got the skin knocked off their backs to do so.  I realize the importance, and significance that my education holds, but there has to be a better pay off than what I’ve seen my peers struggle through.  We need to teach each other how to network with businesses, companies, etc.

What I have taken away from these past few years  is that no matter what your journey, not matter how hard the struggle, don’t forget this important thing: any employer, boss, supervisor can demote you, or let you go, but they can NEVER take away your educated mind.Our people died trying to have the opportunity to be educated and read books, so who are we to complain. Get your education and then find a way to make a difference. Entrepreneurship may be the new post grad thing to do!

Corporate greed is controlling the American Dream, which is becoming obsolete. Time to pick up and make your own dream.

The main problem with blacks being able to following through with dreams is finances and resources. We need to help one another, mentor one another, and network with one another. I believe we can all be successful post graduation, but it will take all of these things plus faith and determination to see it through.

If you had a red carpet, where would it take you?

#whereisyourredcarpet

3 Responses to “Where’s My Red Carpet?”

  1. Tenai November 22, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

    Okay, so far this is my favorite blog from you because as you know I truly understand what you are saying, because i also went through this. I agree with having the knowledge or at least a good idea of what you want to major in when you go to college. Yes it is a blessing to receive your degree and get a higher education, but make sure it is something that you can actually utilize in your future. Proud of you sis, keep the blogs coming and continue to speak your mind 🙂

  2. Joyce Benson November 22, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    It was alway’s my goal to have my daughters complete their higher education to the fullest, and they did! At the time, they might not have understood why Mom was pushing so hard, but in my home, it was higher educ and a plan. This state of mind came from my own experience in life, not sure what to do in life and not taking it seriously until later after real life hit me in the face raising two kids alone (Not My Plan), so I WOKE UP!!
    Yes, our ancestors fought a very hard battle and we MUST keep the fire going, seeing history with our first but not last African American President and a wife who looks like must of us, it’s our DUTY to reach for the stars my young sisters and brothers, for the fight is not over but: GOD IS STILL IN CONTROL!

    Mom, Bebe, Joyce, Auntie, Sister, Wife and Child Of God!

  3. Brittany December 10, 2011 at 6:56 am #

    I forgot all about this picture. I support this message. Love the blog keep it up girl.

I want to hear from you! Comment and Share if you enjoyed this post.

