I Gotta Love Jones: Ode to the black Man

6 Dec

Photo credit: www. allhiphop.com/fifteen-years-later

I see you battling the world, seemingly all alone; fighting a war of hardship and injustice. You work ten times harder than everyone else. You give 100%  on everything and don’t gripe or complain.

 I see you sweat pouring off your forehead, your shirt drenched in a day’s  work.

I see you working the 3rd shift and taking classes

I see you tearing down the glass ceiling in corporate  America

I see you working on that degree

I see you trying to live out your dream

I see you fighting the urge to head back to the streets

I see you getting passed over for, opportunities and a fair chance

I see you getting up day in and day out knowing that the fight continues

I see the weight of the world on your shoulders

I see you taking care of home and making sure everyone else has what they need

I see you putting yourself last, not asking for much in return

 

So when you get home with that silky smooth chocolate skin I gotta…..

 

I gotta keep you happy at home

I gotta make sure you have a good meal each night

I gotta make sure I keep my hair right

I gotta keep the MAC on deck

I gotta keep this body tight

I gotta love Jones baby, and this is my ode to the hardworking black man.

(Dedicated to the hardworking, intelligent, patient, strong, handsome man in my life)

5 Responses to “I Gotta Love Jones: Ode to the black Man”

  1. Tenai December 6, 2011 at 4:58 pm #

    Yes we gotta make sure that while our men are out there making that money, we are keeping them pleased at home! I love my honey bunch 🙂

  2. Joyce Benson December 7, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    Love this blog, so very true for so many years, our Men are Strong, gifted and black, Gotta love them.

    Good One!!

  3. Bee December 7, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    #LOVEIT

  4. Brittany December 10, 2011 at 6:09 am #

    I love a strong black man! All men just want to feel appreciated. It’s our jobs as black women to have their backs when they’re faced with adversities alone the way. Black couples will always be hated and never appreciated.

  5. Mary J March 15, 2012 at 3:57 pm #

    I Love this post, especially in regards to what we ‘women” need to do in appreciation of the good man

I want to hear from you! Comment and Share if you enjoyed this post.

