Making your Mark: Black people making history

1 Feb

Since it is officially Black History Month, I want to celebrate by giving recognition to those who aren’t in the history books, but are in the midst of creating legacies, whether starting businesses, organizations, contributing their time for a cause, pushing for something better, producing work, and ideas trying to live their dreams. I want to let others know about them.

In the age we are in, it’s harder to aspire to be like those who didn’t actually live in the same time period as us. Sometimes, it’s easier  to be inspired by people just like you, so that is my reason for taking a different approach to celebrating Black History Month on Caramel Conversations. I remember and I’m thankful for those who made huge sacrifices, and pushed the envelope for me. At the same time, it’s time to recognize those around us who are turning their ideas into reality in a positive way!

Let me know if you are someone who is making history or know someone who is making history! You can be featured this month!

 

4 Responses to “Making your Mark: Black people making history”

  1. Joyce Benson February 1, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

    My Unsung Hero is my Dad: Mr. Leroy Cantrell Sr. Reason being, not just how he went out of his way to assist young black men in finding good jobs during the 60’s and 70’s era, but my father started out with a 6th grade education because of the need to provide financial support for his family, went back to school (U.T.K.) and obtained his GED and a Supervisory certificate which allowed him to become one of the first African American Forman with Knoxville Utilities Board. Mr. Cantrell fought for higher pay wages and promotions for his staff, focusing on the young Black men at that time finding it difficult to get ahead.
    Yes, Mr. Leroy Cantrell Sr. (Pa-Pa) is a name to be honored and remembered.

    • Tenai February 2, 2012 at 5:22 pm #

      This is so wonderful to read, i miss him!!!

  2. Tenai February 2, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

    My black hero would be our mother (Joyce Benson). She is my role model and the strongest most independent woman that I know. She has worked hard and raised me and my sister to be strong black women who can hold their own. She never let any obstacle block her from succeeding any of her goals in life. When I grow up I want to be just like my mommy:)

  3. Sherelle February 2, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

    Leroy Cantrell(Pa-Pa) contributed to society, and broke through barriers at a time when black men had no say or respect. Love him for that!

    Thanks for commenting!

I want to hear from you! Comment and Share if you enjoyed this post.

