Mrs. Fix it…Don’t become her!

2 Mar

Here’s another one! Now that February has come and gone; it’s back to the basics with my blog.

After seeing the title, you are probably already guessing what I’m going to write about in this post…right? Well, I titled it Mrs. Fix it, because it’s a nickname I gave myself a while back. Most women are nurtures by nature. We hear that statement all the time, but for the most part, at least from my own experience and observance, it is true.

I noticed that I was worn out (mentally) all of the time worrying and trying to make sure everyone around me was okay. Not that anyone was asking me to do this; it was just something I have been accustomed to doing. I’m the oldest of four all together, and I am a protector. In recent years, I let myself get overwhelmed with doing everything, which is mainly my own fault for being so type A. I don’t even know if I am type A, but I have a certain way of doing things and conducting business and other things my own way. Those of you, who know me best, know what I’m talking about. I have to take care of everything my way. I get scared that if I allow my honey to do things they either, won’t get done, or get done in the way I would do them. (Sorry honey…lol- he knows this) Not that others’ ways are wrong, I’m just annoying like that at times. I am ashamed to say, I’ve also written down the words of what I wanted said. (I know, I know). I’m better now; well I’m working on it!

I would get so carried away trying to handle business for others, looking for jobs for people, writing letters for people, etc, and telling them how they should take care of THEIR business; and none of these grown people needed me to do anything for them. I’m not talking about daily chores (that’s a given.) I’m talking about managing everything that I feel needs to happen. This is what I call the brawny paper towel lady phase (picking up everything). I’ve learned that it’s okay to help your loved ones, but let them handle their own business. I don’t need to hover over grown folk! I let people do things their way, because we all have to live our own lives.  

I believe that women get caught up with making sure that the house is okay, and everyone in it is taken care of. Instead, let you man help out, even if it’s not the way you would handle it. Let siblings and family take care of themselves. Look out for self sometimes, or you’ll wind up suffering from exhaustion.

Bless my sister and my honey for loving my crazy self! These people have lived with my crazy self…bless their hearts.

So here’s to, no more making all of the important calls, looking for the next apartment/home when the lease is up, making all of the appointments, booking reservations, setting up meetings, and all the other crap we put on ourselves! 

Don’t be a Mrs. Fix it. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it!

If there is a topic you’d like me to write about, send an email (address below) with the topic and I’ll do my best to post it!

caramelconversations@yahoo.com

 

Thanks for reading, and be blessed!

3 Responses to “Mrs. Fix it…Don’t become her!”

  1. Tenai March 3, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

    Okay I know I always say that each blog is my favorite but this one truly is and I’m not just saying this because you are my sister because you know I keeps it real! Having lived with you most of my life, I truly know how you are and you are a protector. I also appreciate all the advice and help you have given me over the years as a big sis does. Now you are right, it is your time to look after you and relax. If things aren’t done the way you like its okay (I’m still learning this one myself ask the hubby lol) anyway continue with your wonderful blogs I truly look forward to reading them each week!! Hugs and Kisses 🙂

    • Sherelle March 5, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

      Thanks for being so supportive. I love ya extra for it!!! Our men don’t need to be treated like babies. Men want to be men…let them do it! I love a man in control!

  2. Mary J March 15, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

    I have learned you can “fix” anything so, I keep it moving!!! Makes life so much less stressful

I want to hear from you! Comment and Share if you enjoyed this post.

