The Complex, The Often Misunderstood, The lovely: Black hair…

26 Mar

Do you ever get ready to do your hair and end up staring at your disorderly tresses in the mirror with a blank stare?  It’s like “what am I supposed to do with this ish?” If you answered yes, then you probably have “black hair.” Black hair is not a negative phrase, it just defines generations of the most complex, unique, and misunderstood hair follicles known to man! No matter which one of my friends or female family members I ‘m talking to at the time, we always end up discussing our hair! We’re either trying to figure out what to do with it for the week, or agonizing over how much to spend getting it done!

I’ve had my hair cut so many times, primarily due to damage from chemicals. I finally went natural two years ago! It is still difficult dealing with my hair, but it’s so much thicker now, without my relaxer. I am a HUGE fan of lace front wigs these days. Although my natural hair has grown out, I have to be at work early, and I’m not the most crafty person with natural hair. I never learned to braid, so I am natural for the health of my hair, not so much the styling

We can’t just go to sleep with nothing on our heads at night. We all have used the satin pillow case, head scarf, bonnet, do-rags, and everything in between! We can’t just go for a swim or to any beach/vacation without getting it braided up or sewn- in to protect it. I think any man who is in a relationship with a women with such complex tresses are accustomed to the scarf, braids, wigs stands etc…lol! If not…he’ll get used to it! I know my honey has seen me in everything from a short crop to long braids, to natural, to wigs galore! That scarf of mine comes out every night around 10pm…lol!

Relaxed or natural, there is no easy way of pleasing the root-to– tip strands on top of that head. So instead of complaining and agonizing over our very ambitious hair, lets embrace it and keep each other uplifted, whether your hair is short, long, wavy, kinky as all get-out, straight, curled, knitted (lol…I mean sewn-in) braided, locked, and wigged out, whatever!

See the various hairstyles below from my family friends and loved ones.

Thanks to all my family and friends for allowing me to feature them on this week’s post! Without y’all, it would’ve just been me, and all my hair glory!…lol



Afro Puff hair piece

Full cap(when I’m feeling fancy huh)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dominican blow-out

Synthetic Braids

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Natural dreads

Growing dreads

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Freetress lace front

Extensions with closure

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Strand twist out

Flat ironed natural

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Beverly Johnson Lace

Curly sew – in

5 Responses to “The Complex, The Often Misunderstood, The lovely: Black hair…”

  1. Joyous Moments Events March 27, 2012 at 5:14 pm #

    I loved this blog, it revealed: THE UNTOLD STORY!

  2. Tenai March 28, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

    This is so true sis, I love this!

  3. Sherelle March 29, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

    Ladies, look at us! Very good look for regular girls with regular curls!

  4. Mary J May 29, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

    keep posting the hair looks, it give me great ideas. Today I am rocking my curly lacefront. Too hot for a salon do!!!!

I want to hear from you! Comment and Share if you enjoyed this post.

